Posted in 1970's Singles

A Glass Of Champagne – Sailor (1975)

WP_20150506_005
Epic Records S EPC 3770

 In the mid 1970’s several “pop” TV shows were aired in the UK aimed at teenagers like myself. Some I remember such as; Supersonic, Top of the Pops, Lift Off with Ayeshea, and they featured the top-selling bands and singles of the time. I think this is why I have such an eclectic taste in music.

Recorded in 1975 this single straddled the charts of late 1975 and early 1976. It was the first of two top ten hits in the UK and Europe, the other being “Girls, Girls, Girls”. The group members of Sailor were born in several European places. Original band member and writer Georg Kajanus was born in Norway, Henry Marsh was born Bath, England, Phil Pickett born Germany, and Grant Serpell born Maidenhead, England.
This single was a huge European hit making #3 in Switzerland, Germany and The Netherlands, reaching the top ten in Austria and it also charted in Scandinavia. In the UK the song made #2 in January 1976 for 2 weeks of a 12 week run on the chart.
Although the band is still active today, there has been many line up changes, and despite the release of several singles and albums they have only ever charted 3 singles and one album in the UK, all of which were during 1975/76. They are still particularly popular in Germany.

WP_20150506_007
A Glass Of Champagne
A favourite of mine at the time, I never got around to buying the single until I found this at “The Diskery” record shop in October 2014 for 10 pence. It’s in good condition. I did have this on a “Top of the pops” album where session musicians / vocalists recreated the sound of the original. This budget priced album has disappeared from my collection.
WP_20150506_009
B-Side Panama
The B-Side is called Panama, a track taken from charted album “Trouble” Has a very “Folk” feel to it.
Author:

Fan of music. I've been buying records, cassettes, and CD's since the mid 1970's. I'm currently converting some of my vinyl to mp3. Because of this I've been reconnecting with my music collection.

Leave a Reply

