Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love, Babe – Barry White (1974)

In 2015, during a trip to London, a rack of vinyl outside a store called Flashback caught my eye. Inside it was a haven for any lover of old records. I came away with several singles.

wp_20161018_005201_zpseszaj9sd

PYE International Records 7N 25661

I don’t see myself as a collector as such, but the odd occasion over the last 3 years I’ve picked up a few bargains, mainly based on finding songs that have stood the test of time and I’d wished I’d been able to purchase at the time of release.

Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love, Babe was a 1974 release, right at the beginning of me being able buy my own records with pocket-money I had saved up. When you are 12/13 years old and from a poorer background than most, being able to purchase even one or two records a month was a dream. So finding this record made my day.

Barry White was born in 1944, Galveston, Texas, USA. Mr Soul, Mr Smooth however you want to describe him, had a career based around a distinctive bass-baritone voice and romantic image. Although he was releasing music from the early 1960’s, his break through year was 1973.

This was Barry’s third UK chart success and the first of five top ten hits reaching #8, however it became a huge hit in the US hitting the top spot on the Billboard hot 100 pop chart and R&B chart. The follow-up single You’re the First, the Last, My Everythingbecame his only UK #1.

This track has so many elements, spoken introduction, orchestral backing overlayed with a dance rhythm and a smooth soul delivery. The B-side Just Not Enough is primarily an instrumental version of the A side which highlights the percussion and strings.

A total of 7 singles and 7 albums reached #1 on the US R&B charts. He was also a 3 time Grammy award winner.

Sadly due to ill-health often due to being overweight and having high blood pressure, whilst waiting for a kidney transplant in 2003 Barry passed away due to a stroke in Los Angeles, USA. His rich voice lives on through his recordings.

I was out with friends recently and in the background this song was played, a reminder of the quality of Mr White’s work.

About 6134Dave

Fan of music. I've been buying records, cassettes, and CD's since the mid 1970's. I'm currently converting some of my vinyl to mp3. Because of this I've been reconnecting with my music collection.
This entry was posted in 1970's Singles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

